1925 Dodge/ Foamite-Childs Pumper of the North Little Rock Fire Department
Capt. Henry Gray, R.J. Goss and Al Roberts
(Firefighters Identified by Jim Dancy and Bob Franklin (Photo Edited from NLRFD Photo)
This 1925 Dodge/ Foamite-Childs Pumper arrived in June, 1925 to North Little Rock.
As soon as this apparatus
it was put in
service at Central Station, and the 1917
American La France was to be sent back to the factory
"complete overhaul." (This
ended up being done at a local garage, next to 506 Main, under the supervision
BELL visible just behind the right front tire. This, and the spot light were the only warning
devices to alert citizens
fire engine was making a run! This Foamite-Childs pumper (on a 1925
had a 300 GPM Pump and a 35 gallon chemical tank.
Sometime between June and November, 1925 the American La France had arrived back
in North Little Rock,
The 1925 Dodge stayed at Central, and the 1917
La France was assigned to a station in east NLR
in a rented
Central Station was only until the new Seagrave arrived in
1925, it was
Central Station. The
Dodge was sent to "the Pike Avenue
The Pike Avenue Station evidently had been
some time and numerous
repairs were necessary before it
could be occupied.
(Photo From N.L.R.F.D. Collection)
The NLR Fire Station above was evidently the second NLR Fire Station to open. It was built during 1918, and was
opened in December, 1918. The first apparatus to operate out of this
station was the old Ford Model T. It is shown
in another photo on the website
in front of this station. (http://nlrfd100.tripod.com/old_hose_wagon.html)
The station was
closed, due to budget constraints sometime before 1925. The Model T went to Central.
The Station reopened in December, 1925. By this time it housed Company 3.
The August 9, 1940 North Little Rock Times carried a front page article telling that
Federal Money had been approved
for a new Fire Station at 15th and Pike. Another
article stated that the present Station 3 (pictured above) was deemed
The station was torn down and the second station on this site was built in early 1941.