Untitled Document
Make your own free website on Tripod.com

THE FIRE MUSEUM
Of The Unofficial Website Of the North Little Rock, AR
FIRE DEPARTMENT

1904- 2004: 100 Years of Protection and Service To The City

Retired Apparatus | Former NLRFD Stations | Old Documents | Historic Pictures| Museum Homepage | Website Homepage
Hold Your Mouse Over Any Category Above and do the same for the sub menu if necessary. Click on the item you wish to see.


1917 AMERICAN LA FRANCE PUMPER
THE FIRST MOTORIZED APPARATUS
OF THE NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
(Argenta) FIRE DEPARTMENT



  FIRST MOTORIZED FIRE APPARATUS OF N.L.R. (Argenta)

Thanks to L.R.F.D. Captain Bob Franklin for this copy of the builder's plate photo. Compare this photo to the two other photos
on this webpage. The 1917 American La France was a 350 GPM Pumper. It also had a 35 gallon chemical tank, ladders, two
hard- suction hoses and a tool box for small equipment. This old pumper arrived with solid rubber tires, and had "high-
pressure tires" along with new wheels and rims installed in 1930. The 1917 American La France had to be cranked by
hand. There was not an electric starter of any kind on this pumper in March, 1931.

This 1917 American La France Pumper was the first motorized apparatus of the N L R F D. Actually, if the picture is inspected
closely, it was the ARGENTA F.D. at this time.  This was a chain wheel drive truck.  It orginally was Engine 1 in the old Main Street
Station.  In 1925, it was assigned to Station 2 on East Broadway.  The picture is from the original factory picture. The copy was given
to me by L.R. F.D. Capt. Bob Franklin.

North Little Rock was called Argenta at this time. The builder's plate at the bottom of the original of the picture below reads
"American La France Fire Engine Company." "Argenta Fire Department" is lettered on the hood of the fire engine.

Below: The NLRFD after a big snow storm. This apparatus is the 1917 American La France Pumper. Note the emblem on the radiator.
The command had been given to install tire chains on the rear tires. This old engine appears to have dual rear tires. The sign for
Mechanics Lumber Company is visible. This business was a dominant business in downtown North Little Rock for many decades.
The solid rubber tires on the American La France are clearly visible here. The crank for starting the engine is visible, also.


Thanks to North Little Rock Fire Department Captain (retired) Jim Dancy for this picture. He identifies the
following people: A.H.Dancy at the Sterring Wheel (Jim Dancy's Father) A.H. "Red" Dancy was holding
Baby Florence Margaret Powell; Charlie Youngblood - standing next to baby. ( Others Unknown.)
To The Next Picture of the New Pictures From Capt. Jim Dancy


The Unofficial Website was given permission by Mrs. Ruth Farris to use this Historic Old Photo of the 1917 American LaFrance.
It had just been overhauled, and was sitting outside the FIRST Station 2 on E. 3rd. This was the R.R. Prioleau Building.
"NLRFD"
was now painted across the hood in gold letters. (Argenta Fire Department used to be the insignia.) A search light and hand-crank
siren are both visible to the left of the steering wheel. The bell was mounted toward the rear of the pumper.